On A Carousel (Sulla Giostra)

GGSometimes you are a sunset tender. Sometimes your eyes reflect the sea light of chestnut and jade. Sometimes you are the golden eagle with the wild in his eyes; all fire and passion in the gardens of Aranjuez. Qualche volta, GianRomeo, sei un briccone! Qualche volta ti vedo la gioia e il dolore di fama. Sometimes you feel like a long lost friend. And, sometimes an embrace of someone that passed this way.

We simply adore you. In that way you share your dreams, hopes, wants, aches and the wonders of travels with so many thousands curious to know just for a moment of you. Didn’t I hear someone say, that when I saw GianLuca, I had him close once more, I touched your hair, there was an echo. I wonder if he haunts me still. Not again will I hold my dearest near to me. But, for a moment, I could dream he was no longer my shadow.

But, you have bewitched me. I feel your warmth in the mystique of your voice, sensual and purring the ear in a romantic baritone. You were the friend, the brother, the son I could have known. Every time I thought I lost the dream, I heard you and became as I was. I was whole, I was content, and I was sunrise.

Gianluca born under the sunrise of a snow moon in the wee town of Montepagano. D’Abruzzo, the blue of the sea, the white of the snow peaked mountains and the green of the fertile foothills in between. So far from home, that old place of mulberry and olive groves reaching to the sea. Now you ride a carousel, sometimes I am in that dream with thee.

Sands Poem
…Then the sands will roll out a carpet of gold for your weary toes to be a-touchin’ And the ship’s wise men will remind you once again, that the whole wide world is watchin’…When the Ship Comes In, Bob Dylan
2 thoughts on “On A Carousel (Sulla Giostra)

  1. This has touched my heart…reading it was as if I stumbled on a love letter that should have been private between two people, but started out so intense I could not do anything but read it to the end. It was, next to Gian’s letter home, one of the most intensely personal avowal of love and caring I have other seen. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

